Andrea Bruce Wins $20K 2018 Anja Niedringhaus Award

Posted by on Monday April 16, 2018 | Awards/Contests/Grants

In Baghdad, Halla Hameed with her children in 2003. After her husband was killed in the violence during the initial days of the U.S. invasion, she became a prostitute to provide for her children. A customer sits behind her. ©Andrea Bruce

Photographer Andrea Bruce has won the 2018 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award, the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) announced on Saturday. The award comes with a $20,000 prize. Two other photographers—Amber Bracken and Rebecca Conway—won honorable mentions.

Chosen from 136 nominees, Bruce won for her work focusing on people living in the aftermath of war, particularly in Iraq and Afghanistan, the IWMF said in its announcement. “Andrea was selected for her empathy, her emotional connection with subject, and for the dignity that shines through in her portfolio, which also includes images from Syria, Russia, Bahrain, India and Haiti,” the IWMF said.

Bruce recently won a $30,000 Catchlight Fellowship for her current work about democracy in the U.S.

Bracken was recognized for her work documenting the 2016 protests initiated by the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe against the Dakota Access Pipeline. Conway, who is now a photo editor for Agence France-Presse, was recognized for her work documenting the conflict in Kashmir.

The Anja Niedringhaus Award recognizes women journalists who “document crucial stories in challenging environments,” the IWMF says. It was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning photographer Anja Niedringhaus, who was killed in 2014 while covering elections in Afghanistan.

Andrea Bruce, Aida Muluneh, Carlos Javier Ortiz Win $30K Catchlight Fellowships

Sinclair Wins $20K 2017 Anja Niedringhaus Award



8 Photographers Win Magnum Foundation Fund Grant

Posted by on Wednesday May 30, 2018 | Awards/Contests/Grants

Sarker Protick, Magnum Foundation
Terrace and pigeon house built by a family occupying the Dubolhati Rajbari, Dubolhati, Bangladesh. © Sarker Protick

The Magnum Foundation Fund has announced the recipients of its 2018 grant. The winners will receive grants of varying amounts as well as “project development support” to explore “new models of storytelling.” The Magnum Foundation announced the news today. The eight winning projects are: “Eclipse” by Sagar Chhetri; “Orinoco Women’s Journal” by Juanita Escobar; “Santa Barbara”... More

Quick Tip: What Jurors Look for in Your Grant Application

Posted by on Thursday May 24, 2018 | Awards/Contests/Grants

Grant competition jurors reject hundreds of applications because photographers often treat them like contest entry forms, “with a project description, but little or nothing about how they’re going to execute it or distribute the work,” says Chelsea Matiash, senior editor at The New York Times and a juror for the 2017 Getty Editorial grants. “Jurors... More

Eight Photographers Win Reuters Photojournalism Grants of $5K

Posted by on Wednesday May 16, 2018 | Awards/Contests/Grants, Photojournalism

Eight photographers have won the first Reuters photojournalism grants of $5,000, the news service announced today. Reuters created the grant program to support “a diverse new generation of photojournalists” who can tell stories from new and different perspectives. Reuters launched the initiative last year at Visa pour l‘image international festival of photojournalism in Perpignan, France.... More