Mathieu Asselin, Dayanita Singh Win 2017 Paris Photo-Aperture PhotoBook Prizes

Posted by on Thursday November 16, 2017 | Awards/Contests/Grants

Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation, by Mathieu Asselin.

Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation, by Mathieu Asselin.

Mathieu Asselin’s book Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation has won the $10,000 First PhotoBook Prize in the 2017 Paris Photo—Aperture Foundation PhotoBook awards. Published by Verlag Kettler and Acte Sud, the book combines original photos, old Monsanto ads and archival material about the pesticide manufacturer. Dayanita Singh won PhotoBook of the Year for Museum Bhavan, her series of nine small, accordion-fold books contained within a clamshell box.  (See: Photo Book Making: Dayanita Singh’s “Museum Bhavan.”)

Winners were chosen by a jury that included: Florencia Giordana Braun, director and founder of Rolf Art Gallery in Buenos Aires; curator Krzysztof Candrowicz, artistic director of the Triennial of Photography in Hamburg; photographer Mitch Epstein; Nathalie Herschdorfer, director of Museum of Fine Arts, Le Locle, Switzerland; and Cristiano Raimondi of the New National Museum of Monaco. They chose the winners from a shortlist of 20 books in each category. The jurors for the shortlist were Kathy Ryan, director of photography at The New York Times Magazine; Joel Smith, photography curator at the Morgan Library & Museum; photography Gregory Halpern, whose book ZZYZX won the 2016 PhotoBook prize; Christoph Wiesner, artistic director of Paris Photo; Lesley A. Martin, creative director of Aperture Foundation.

Two other PhotoBook Prizes were also awarded. The winner of the Photography Catalogue of the Year prize is the catalogue for “New Realities: Photography in the 19th Century” at the Rijiksmuseum in Amsterdam. The jurors also awarded a special mention to La Grieta (The Crack), a combination graphic novel and photo book, created by Carlos Spottorno and Guillermo Abril and published by Astiberri Ediciones.


New Ideas in Photo Book Making: Dayanita Singh’s “Museum Bhavan”

Michael Christopher Brown, Gregory Halpern Win Paris Photo-Aperture PhotoBook Prize




8 Photographers Win Magnum Foundation Fund Grant

Posted by on Wednesday May 30, 2018 | Awards/Contests/Grants

Sarker Protick, Magnum Foundation
Terrace and pigeon house built by a family occupying the Dubolhati Rajbari, Dubolhati, Bangladesh. © Sarker Protick

The Magnum Foundation Fund has announced the recipients of its 2018 grant. The winners will receive grants of varying amounts as well as “project development support” to explore “new models of storytelling.” The Magnum Foundation announced the news today. The eight winning projects are: “Eclipse” by Sagar Chhetri; “Orinoco Women’s Journal” by Juanita Escobar; “Santa Barbara”... More

Quick Tip: What Jurors Look for in Your Grant Application

Posted by on Thursday May 24, 2018 | Awards/Contests/Grants

Grant competition jurors reject hundreds of applications because photographers often treat them like contest entry forms, “with a project description, but little or nothing about how they’re going to execute it or distribute the work,” says Chelsea Matiash, senior editor at The New York Times and a juror for the 2017 Getty Editorial grants. “Jurors... More

Eight Photographers Win Reuters Photojournalism Grants of $5K

Posted by on Wednesday May 16, 2018 | Awards/Contests/Grants, Photojournalism

Eight photographers have won the first Reuters photojournalism grants of $5,000, the news service announced today. Reuters created the grant program to support “a diverse new generation of photojournalists” who can tell stories from new and different perspectives. Reuters launched the initiative last year at Visa pour l‘image international festival of photojournalism in Perpignan, France.... More