Leica Names Frank Hallam Day the 2012 Oskar Barnack Award Winner

Frank Hallam Day, who is based in Washington, DC, is this year’s recipient of the Leica Oskar Barnack Award. The annual contest celebrates photographic works that explore “the interaction between man and the environment with acute vision and contemporary visual style—creative, groundbreaking and unintrusive,” according to the Leica site. Day’s winning series “Alumascapes” shows landscapes that include RVs or motor homes, which are lit from within and tucked away amongst the trees and foliage of Florida. To learn more about Day’s work, check out his interview with DCist.

This year’s Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award, which honors “prospective” photographers who are 25 years old or younger, was given to Piotr Zbierski of Poland. His submission included images from his long-term project “White Elephant,” which is a series of black-and-white portraits of strangers he has encountered throughout Eastern Europe and India.

Both winners will receive a Leica M9-P camera and lens (estimated value of 10,000 euros) on July 3 at the Rencontres d’Arles photography festival in France. Day will also receive a 5,000 euro cash prize.

The Oskar Barnack Award was established in 1979 to honor the centennial of the birth of Oskar Barnack, who invented the smaller format 35mm “Leica” camera. Past recipients of the award include Sebastião Salgado, Eugene Richards, Luc Delahaye, Narelle Autio, Guy Tillim, Julio Bittencourt, Mikhael Subotzky and Jan Grarup.

Comments are closed.