Getty Images is now accepting applications for its 2011 Grants for Editorial Photography. Five grants of $20,000 apiece will be awarded to support photographers pursuing “projects of personal and journalistic significance.” The deadline to apply is May 1, and winners will be announced in September.

The judges for this year’s grants are photographer Tom Stoddart; Cyril Drouhet, director of photography, Le Figaro; Emanuelle Mirabelli, photo editor for Marie Claire Italy; Jon Jones, director of photography, The Sunday Times of London; and Jean-Francois LeRoy, director general of the Visa Pour L’Image festival in Perpignan, France.

This year, the grant is open to photographers who work as part of a team. Past winners of Getty Grants for Editorial Photography include Stefano de Luigi, Darcy Padilla,  Brenda Ann Kenneally, Alex Majoli, Rena Effendi and Lynsey Addario.

Getty is also offering a grant for students. The student grant includes no prize money; instead the winning student is featured on Reportage by Getty Images. For information on the student grant, email



Magnum Foundation Announces 2016 Emergency Fund Grants

Posted by on Wednesday March 23, 2016 | Uncategorized

Eighteen photographers from around the world have been awarded the 2016 Magnum Foundation Emergency Fund, a grant that helps independent photographers produce in-depth and creative stories on underreported issues. Grantees were selected by an independent editorial committee from a pool of 140 photographers nominated by 26 international editors, curators, and educators. The grantees are: Poulomi Basu,... More

Edward Burtynsky Establishes Photo Book Grant with Prize Money

Posted by on Friday March 11, 2016 | Uncategorized

Photographer Edward Burtynsky announced this week that he will use a CAD 25,000 ($18,892) award he received to establish a photo book publishing grant for Canadian emerging photographers. The money will support one CAD 5,000 ($3,778) grant per year for the next five years. Burtynsky had received the cash prize from The Canada Council for... More