The board of the W. Eugene Smith Memorial Fund will announce this year’s winners of the W. Eugene Smith Memorial Fund Grant for Humanistic Photography on October 20 in New York City. The work of finalists and grant winners will be on display.

The ceremony is free and open to the public.
The same evening, the 16th annual Howard Chapnick Grant for The Advancement of Photojournalism will also be awarded. The $5,000 Howard Chapnick Grant honors individuals or organizations working to advance photojournalism through editing, research, education and management.

Last year’s Smith Grant winner, Lu Guang, used the $30,000 award document ecological disasters in China. Previous recipients have included Eugene Richards, Sebastião Salgado, Paul Graham, Paolo Pellegrin, Brenda Ann Kenneally and Mikhael Subhotsky. This year. the  honorees were chosen by the panel of judges from among 182 entrants representing 32 countries.
Wednesday, October 20, 2010
Asia Society Auditorium
725 Park Avenue at 70th Street
New York, New York 10021
Free.  (Seating is on a first come, first served basis)
Doors Open at 6.30pm
Ceremony at 7pm
Reception to Follow




Victoria Will on the Importance of the Workshop Experience

Posted by on Thursday April 14, 2016 | Events

Sponsored by Santa Fe Photographic Workshops   Though Victoria Will began her career as a photojournalist, she fell in love with storytelling through portraiture. The magic came in learning to light her subjects, a skill she couldn’t use in her journalistic work. After working for a newspaper for several years, her first real editorial assignment... More

Nat Geo Seminar: Photographers Explain How they Reach New Audiences to Effect Change

Posted by on Wednesday January 20, 2016 | Events, Photojournalism

In his talk during the National Geographic Seminar on January 14, Louis Psihoyos, the photographer, filmmaker and conservation advocate, urged photojournalists and nature photographers in the audience to reach beyond magazine readers and look for new, ambitious ways to get their message in front of a wider audience. Psihoyos’s film Racing Extinction has been shown... More